top of page

8 POWER MOVES TO BECOMING A MORE CONFIDENT YOU

I think at some point in our lives we’ve all struggled with self-image. Male or female we all know what it’s like to lack confidence either in our relationships (personal or professional), in our careers or within ourselves. Society has a bad habit of putting celebrities on a pedestal but trust me; they struggle with the same issues as everyone else. And since we’re all family here, I have to be honest; I battle from time to time with my own issues.

When I was going through my divorce I felt confused, angry and unsure of myself. I was worried about how I was going to move forward and continue to be the best mother possible to my three children. Getting back to a good place in my life wasn’t easy but I put a couple of things into practice that really helped me get through it. First and foremost, I consider myself a PRAYER WARRIOR! My belief in God is the source of my strength and is what keeps me grounded. I literally don’t start my day until I have prayed.

I also practice daily affirmations. Have you ever seen the show “Being Mary Jane”? In it Gabrielle Union stars as Mary Jane Paul, this fly ass TV journalist who is trying to balance her career, her private family life and find “Mr. Right” all at the same time. Anyway, Mary Jane always writes these encouraging notes to herself and then sticks the post-its all over her mirrors (I always loved those scenes!). Every day I look in the mirror and remind myself that I’m beautiful, I’m intelligent and I’m worthy. Many times people will try to make you feel less than, like you’re not enough. But I think it’s important to remember that self-confidence starts from within. Never allow someone to take away what they didn’t give you in the first place.

I also set daily goals. I find that goal setting makes me feel more productive. Even if I don’t meet every goal, that fact that I tried to accomplish something makes me more confident. When you’re focused on doing things for yourself without worrying about what others may think, you become a stronger person.

As a Leo, I think I am a naturally confident person. I’m always down to try something new and I’m not afraid to fail. I can walk into any situation and have a conversation with anybody from the secretary to the CEO. My friends think I’m weird because I will literally go just about anywhere by myself. If I want to go to a party and none of my homegirls can come with me, I’ll go by myself. I don’t need an entourage to have a good time. The only place I won’t go alone is to the movies. Haha, I know right! You would think that would be the one place I wouldn’t mind going by myself but I just feel like that’s too much of date thing. But the point is, don’t miss out on the opportunity to meet new people and try new things just because your usual crowd isn’t around.

According to a 2012 article on www.psychologytoday.com, people with low sef-esteem are less likely to express and assert themselves causing them to miss out on important experiences, which results in them feeling hopeless. Ultimately this can cause them to suffer from long-term low self-esteem (Burton). So how confident are you? Below is my list of eight power moves that every successful, confident person makes. Where do you stand?

1. Confident people aren’t afraid to be wrong. Many times people won’t try new things or speak up out of fear of being wrong. However, confident people admit when they’re wrong or that they don’t necessarily have all the answers. They know that every situation is a chance to learn something new. Without risk, there is no reward!

2. Confident people understand it’s important to listen more than they speak. They want to hear what others have to say and are open to accept constructive criticism. They are secure enough to receive feedback and use this information to improve themselves both personally and professionally.

3. Confident people let others around them shine. They don’t need to always be the center of attention. In fact, they are actually excited about the success of others. They have no need to be in the spotlight because they are confident in their own abilities and want to see everyone win.

4. Confident people ask for help. Nobody can achieve success without getting some assistance along the way. Confident people know this fact and aren’t afraid to utilize the people around them to help them achieve their goals and objectives.

5. Confident people never sell themselves short. They are true go-getters and will confidently ask for what they believe they deserve. They understand that unless you ask for what you want, the answer is always no. Confident people are able to creatively think of ways to utilize the resources around them to network and achieve their dreams.

6. Confident people see everything as an opportunity. Even when they are currently working a job they hate or just recently ended a long-term relationship with their partner, confident people can see the lesson in any situation.

7. Confident people don’t judge others. They aren’t superficial because they can recognize the value in others. They don’t compare their accomplishments to those around them because they know it’s a waste of time, especially when they could be busy planning big moves!

8. Confident people don’t worry about what others think. They only seek opinions from the people that really matter. But at the end of the day, they do what they believe is in their best interest. Win or lose they stand by their decisions.

The most important part of becoming a more confident person is to forget about perfection; it’s an illusion. Give yourself permission to make mistakes and understand that with that comes growth. Give yourself credit, even for the small achievements. As long as you’re making steps to continue moving forward, you’re on your way to becoming a healthier, happier, more confident you!

WORKS CITED

Burton, Neel. “Building Confidence and Self-Esteem”. Psychology Today.

Psychology Today, 30 May 2012. Web. 31 August 2015. Retrieved from

https://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/hide-and-seek/201205/building-

confidence-and-self-esteem


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page